Sunday, February 12, 2017

200 MOST RECOMMENDED ALBUMS: #5. Continues next week.
Some are the best selling, while others may be obscure, but the albums listed here are all worthy of a listen. No compilation/ best of sets. Only exceptional live albums included. This is a personal listing of the albums I enjoy the most to this day.
Bad Girls LP.jpg
'Bad Girls' was yet another double album released by Donna Summer. The 4 sides allowed her to demonstrate her versatility across a number of genres. Summer may have been dubbed the Queen of Disco, but she always refused to be limited by that 1 genre. Of all her albums, this one explores various styles with greatest efficacy. "Hot Stuff" kicks off the album, radically merging disco with rock music. That smash hit seamlessly flows into the title track, which followed it to #1 in America. "Bad Girls" added more soul to Summer's disco arsenal of hits. "Love Will Always Find You", "Walk Away", "Dim All The Lights" and "Journey To The Center Of Your Heart" benefit from the input of disco's legendary architects Giorgio Moroder and Pete Bellotte. Summer's role as co-writer should not go unrecognized. The disco funk of the latter track gives way to the more R&B-flavoured "One Night In A Lifetime". The music continues its gradual shift by slowing down for "Can't Get To Sleep At Night" while maintaining the persistent dance beat. Delicate piano ballad "On My Honor" follows, with a hint of country. Summer blends sensuality with soul on the love song "There Will Always Be A You". This underrated song brings her vocal talent to the fore in a way her disco recordings never did. "All Through The Night" and "My Baby Understands" reveal Summer's ability to master other styles. These tracks feature ingredients such as R&B, adult contemporary and gospel. By now, the songs are a galaxy away from the frenetic dance tracks of side one. For the 4th and final side, Summer brings the music full circle: serving our ears 3 groundbreaking dance songs. "Our Love" is an aural climax, exploding with her mighty vocal and futuristic electronica. That sonic orgasm is followed by the visionary sounds in "Lucky". The album closes with another disco gem, the synth-driven "Sunset People". This LP ought to be studied by any aspiring dance artist.
Highlight tracks:
* Our Love
* Hot Stuff
* Bad Girls
* Lucky
* Journey To The Center Of Your Heart
* Sunset People
* Walk Away
* There Will Always Be A You
* Dim All The Lights 

No comments:

Post a Comment